FutureBeef Northern Territory contacts

Please contact our key program staff for enquiries relating to FutureBeef or general advice and expertise on Northern Territory pastoral production.

Key FutureBeef Program contacts

Trudi Oxley, Senior Extension Officer
Location: Katherine
Region: Katherine
T: 08 8973 9763 F: 08 8973 9777 M: 0409 740 806 E: trudi.oxley@nt.gov.au

Pieter Conradie, Manager Pastoral Production
Location: Alice Springs
Region: Alice Springs and Tennant Creek
T: 08 895 18101 F: 08 895 18112 M: 0438 848 023 E: pieter.conradie@nt.gov.au

Jane Douglas, Pastoral Technical Officer
Location: Tennant Creek
Region: Tennant Creek
T: 08 8962 4483  F: 08 8962 4480 E: jane.douglas@nt.gov.au

Arthur Cameron, Principal Pastures and Extension Agronomist
Location: Darwin
Region: Darwin and Katherine
T: 08 8999 2214 F: 08 8999 2043 M: 0417 816 795 E: arthur.cameron@nt.gov.au

Ben Beumer, Extension Officer
Location: Darwin
Region: Marrakai
T: 08 8999 2302 F: 08 8999 2043 M: 0448 690 430 E: ben.beumer@nt.gov.au

Our team of highly trained and experienced professional, technical and field staff are based across the territory and available to provide local advice and expertise on pastoral production in your region.

Northern Territory beef extension staff profiles:

Alice Springs Pastoral DistrictCoral Allen

Coral Allan, Rangeland Technical Officer

Expertise: Pasture assessment and identification, fire management and planning, scat and track identification.

Location: Alice Springs

Region: Alice Springs

T: 08 8951 8131 F: 08 8951 8112 E: coral.allan@nt.gov.au


Pieter Conradie, Manager Pastoral Production

Expertise: Landcare and extensive grazing systems.

Location: Alice Springs

Region: Alice Springs and Tennant Creek

T: 08 8951 8101 F: 08 895 18112 M: 0438 848 023 E: pieter.conradie@nt.gov.au

 


Danny Hoogstraten, Development Officer, Indigenous Pastoral Program, DoR, AZRI

Expertise: Indigenous training and employment projects focusing on conservation and land management.

Location: Alice Springs

Region: Alice Springs

T: 08 8951 8133 F: 08 895 18112 E: Danny.Hoogstraten@nt.gov.au


Casey Collier, Pastoral Production Officer, Northern Territory Department of Primary Industry and Fisheries, Tennant CreekCasey Collier, Pastoral Production Officer

Expertise: Barkly extension co-ordination and pasture monitoring and assessment.

Location: Tennant Creek

Region: Barkly Tablelands

T: 08 8962 4493 F: 08 8962 4480 E: casey.collier@nt.gov.au


Jocelyn Coventry, Pastoral Production OfficerJocelyn Coventry

Expertise: Beef cattle research in arid rangelands.

Location: Alice Springs

Region: Alice Springs

T: 08 8951 8142 F: 08 8951 8112 E: jocelyn.coventry@nt.gov.au

 


Bryan Gill, Pastoral Advisory Officer

Expertise: Nutrition, pregnancy testing, artificial insemination and fire management.

Location: Alice Springs

Region: Alice Springs

T: 08 8951 8127 F: 08 8951 8112 E: bryan.gill@nt.gov.au

 


Sally Leigo, Research Leader, Precision Pastoral Management Tools ProjectSally Leigo

Cooperative Research Centre for Remote Economic Participation (CRC-REP) & NT Dept. of Primary Industry and Fisheries.

Expertise: Grazing land management, cattle nutrition, Pregnancy testing and AI, reproduction, new technologies

Location: Alice Springs

Region: Alice Springs

T: 08 8951 8144 F: 08 8951 8112 E: sally.leigo@nt.gov.au


Chris Materne, Pastoral Production Officer

Expertise: Arid Zone and Barkly Mitchell grasslands, rangeland ecology; pasture growth modelling and carrying capacity estimates, grazing strategies, fire, climate and
seasonal analysis and prediction.

Location: Alice Springs

Region: Alice Springs and Tennant Creek

T: 08 8951 8135 F: 08 8951 8112 E: chris.materne@nt.gov.au


Jane Douglas, Pastoral Production OfficerJane Douglas

Expertise: EID based data collection systems, NIRS sample collection

Location: Tennant Creek

Region:  Tennant Creek

T: 08 8962 4483 F: 08 8962 4480 E: jane.douglas@nt.gov.au

 


Katherine and Top End

Ben Beumer, Extension OfficerBen Beumer

Expertise: Native/improved pasture development and management including weed management, specialised machinery design, pasture identification, fencing, floodplain development and management.

Location: Darwin

Region: Marrakai

T: 08 8999 2302 F: 08 8999 2043 M: 0448 690 430 E: ben.beumer@nt.gov.au


Arthur Cameron, Principal Pastures and Extension Agronomist

Expertise: Improved pastures, floodplain management, soils, fertilisers, seed production,
native pastures, fodder crops, and hay production.

Location: Darwin

Region: Darwin and Katherine

T: 08 8999 2214 F: 08 8999 2043 M: 0417 816 795 E: arthur.cameron@nt.gov.au


Robyn Cowley, Senior Rangeland ScientistRobyn Cowley

Expertise: Rangeland ecology and management, grazing trials, GRASP modelling and climate change impacts.

Location: Brisbane

Region: Northern Territory

M: 0419 829 493 E: robyn.cowley@nt.gov.au


Chaz Delacoeur, Indigenous Pastoral Development OfficerChaz Delacoeur

Expertise: Development of Indigenous Land in the Northern Territory for pastoral/cattle operations with associated employment and financial benefits.

Location: Katherine

Region: Northern Territory

T: 08 8973 9736 F: 08 8973 9777 M: 0428 444 045


Whitney Dollemore, Pastoral Production OfficerWhitney Dollemore

Expertise: NT DPIF Selected Brahman Herd, EID based data collection systems.

Location: Katherine

Region: Katherine

T: 08 8973 9749 F: 08 8973 9777 E: whitney.dollemore@nt.gov.au

 


David Ffoulkes, Regional Manager Darwin, Climate Change Co-ordinator

Expertise: Climate change impacts and mitigation, and; nutrition.

Location: Darwin

Region: Darwin

T: 08 8999 2204 F: 08 8999 2043 E: david.ffoulkes@nt.gov.au


Barry Lemcke, Principal Livestock ManagementBarry_Lemcke

Expertise: Breeding including pregnancy diagnosis and artificial insemination, breeder management, husbandry and management of buffalo.

Location: Darwin

Region: Darwin

T: 08 8999 2263 F: 08 8999 2043 M: 0429 095 809 E: barry.lemcke@nt.gov.au


Neil MacDonald, Director Primary Industry ResearchNeil Macdonald

Expertise: Breeder herd management on extensive semi-arid rangelands, mineral nutrition, grazing management, performance levels of breeders and growers in semi-arid northern Australia.

Location: Katherine

Region: Northern Territory

T: 08 8973 9739 E: neil.macdonald@nt.gov.au


Kieren McCosker, Beef Research Officer

Expertise: Reproductive performance of beef cattle, animal production systems, animal nutrition and animal welfare.

Location: Katherine

Region: Katherine

T: 08 8973 9771 F: 08 8973 9777 E: kieren.mccosker@nt.gov.au


Trudi Oxley, Beef Industry Development OfficerTrudi Oxley

Expertise: Grazing land management, herd modelling, workshop and course development and delivery, breeder herd management systems and stock handling.

Location: Katherine

Region: Katherine

T: 08 8973 9763 F: 08 8973 9777 M: 0409 740 806 E: trudi.oxley@nt.gov.au


Tim Schatz, Principal Pastoral Production Research OfficerTim Schtz

Expertise: Heifer fertility, breeder herd efficiency, animal production systems and animal nutrition.

Location: Darwin

Region: Northern Territory

T: 08 8999 2332 F: 08 8999 2043 M: 0429 677 833 E: tim.schatz@nt.gov.au


Peter Shotton, Farm Systems ResearchPeter Shotton

Expertise: Pasture establishment, leucaena establishment and management, pasture and soil core sampling and monitoring.

Location: Douglas Daly Research Farm

Location: Douglas Daly

T: 08 8978 2442 F: 08 8978 2473 E: peter.shotton@nt.gov.au


Dionne Walsh, Rangeland Program Coordinator

Expertise: Research and extension in sustainable rangeland management: carrying capacity, forage budgeting, grazing systems.

Location: Darwin

Region: Northern Territory

T: 08 8999 2178 F: 08 8999 2043 E: dionne.walsh@nt.gov.au


Jodie Ward, Pastoral Production OfficerJodie_Ward

Expertise: Botanal sampling

Location: Katherine

Region: Katherine

T: 08 8973 9730 F: 08 8973 9777 E: jodie.ward@nt.gov.au


 

 

 

  • A joint initiative of:
  • Queensland Government
  • Northern Territory Government
  • WA Department of Argiculture and Food
  • MLA
© 2017 FutureBeef - https://www.futurebeef.com.au/