Contact us

Western Australia



Matthew Fletcher

Matthew Fletcher

Development Officer
Expertise

Rangeland management and assessment, rangeland memo editor, feed budgets, pasture condition assessments, land rehabilitation, extension and training.

Location Kununurra
Region Kimberley
t. 08 9166 4019
m. 0428 637 710
e. matthew.fletcher@dpird.wa.gov.au
View full profile

Trevor Price

Project Manager - Northern Beef Development
Location Broome
Region Northern Western Australia
t. 08 9194 1441
e. trevor.price@agric.wa.gov.au
View full profile

Stephanie Coombes

Northern Beef Development Officer
Location Broome
Region Pilbara
t. 08 9194 1430
e. stephanie.coombes@agric.wa.gov.au
View full profile

Clare Atkins

Northern Beef Development Officer
Location Broome
Region East Kimberley
t. 08 9166 4044
e. clare.atkins@agric.wa.gov.au
View full profile

Mariah Maughan

Northern Beef Development Officer
Location Broome
Region West Kimberley
t. 08 9194 1442
e. mariah.maughan@agric.wa.gov.au
View full profile

Northern Territory

Head and shoulder photo of Coral Allan, Rangeland Technical Officer, Department of Agriculture and Food, Alice Springs

Coral Allan

Rangeland Technical Officer
Expertise

Pasture assessment and identification, fire management and planning, scat and track identification.

Location Alice Springs
Region Alice Springs
t. 08 8951 8131
m. 08 8951 8112
e. coral.allan@nt.gov.au
View full profile

Jocelyn Coventry

Jocelyn Coventry

Pastoral Production Officer
Expertise

Beef cattle research in arid rangelands.

Location Alice Springs
Region Alice Springs
t. 08 8951 8142
e. jocelyn.coventry@nt.gov.au
View full profile

Bryan Gill

Pastoral Advisory Officer
Expertise

Nutrition, pregnancy testing, artificial insemination and fire management.

Location Alice Springs
Region Alice Springs
t. 08 8951 8127
e. bryan.gill@nt.gov.au
View full profile

Chris Materne

Pastoral Production Officer
Expertise

Arid Zone and Barkly Mitchell grasslands, rangeland ecology; pasture growth modelling and carrying capacity estimates, grazing strategies, fire, climate and
seasonal analysis and prediction.

Location Alice Springs
Region Alice Springs
t. 08 8951 8135
e. chris.materne@nt.gov.au
View full profile

Jane Douglas

Pastoral Production Officer
Expertise

EID based data collection systems, NIRS sample collection, extension and training.

Location Tennant Creek
Region Tennant Creek
t. 08 8962 4483
e. jane.douglas@nt.gov.au
View full profile

Casey Collier

Casey Collier

Pastoral Production Officer
Expertise

Barkly extension co-ordination and pasture monitoring and assessment.

Location Tennant Creek
Region Barkly Tablelands
t. 08 8962 4493
e. casey.collier@nt.gov.au
View full profile

Ben Beumer

Extension Officer
Expertise

Native/improved pasture development and management including weed management, specialised machinery design, pasture identification, fencing, floodplain development and management.

Location Darwin
Region Marrakai
t. 08 8999 2302
m. 0448 690 430
e. ben.beumer@nt.gov.au
View full profile

Arthur Cameron

Principal Pastures and Extension Agronomist
Expertise

Improved pastures, floodplain management, soils, fertilisers, seed production, native pastures, fodder crops, and hay production.

Location Darwin
Region Darwin and Katherine
t. 08 8999 2214
m. 0417 816 795
e. arthur.cameron@nt.gov.au
View full profile

Robyn Cowley

Robyn Cowley

Senior Rangeland Scientist
Expertise

Rangeland ecology and management, grazing trials, GRASP modelling and climate change impacts.

Location Brisbane
Region Northern Territory
m. 0419 829 493
e. robyn.cowley@nt.gov.au
View full profile

Chaz Delacoeur

Indigenous Pastoral Development Officer
Expertise

Development of Indigenous Land in the Northern Territory for pastoral/cattle operations with associated employment and financial benefits.

Location Katherine
Region Northern Territory
t. 08 8973 9736
m. 0428 444 045
View full profile

Whitney Dollemore

Pastoral Production Officer
Expertise

NT DPIF Selected Brahman Herd, EID based data collection systems.

Location Katherine
Region Katherine
t. 08 8973 9749
e. whitney.dollemore@nt.gov.au
View full profile

David Ffoulkes

Regional Manager Darwin, Climate Change Co-ordinator
Expertise

Climate change impacts and mitigation, and; nutrition.

Location Darwin
Region Darwin
t. 08 8999 2204
e. david.ffoulkes@nt.gov.au
View full profile

Neil MacDonald

Director Primary Industry Research
Expertise

Breeder herd management on extensive semi-arid rangelands, mineral nutrition, grazing management, performance levels of breeders and growers in semi-arid northern Australia.

Location Katherine
Region Northern Territory
t. 08 8973 9739
e. neil.macdonald@nt.gov.au
View full profile

Kieren McCosker

Beef Research Officer
Expertise

Reproductive performance of beef cattle, animal production systems, animal nutrition and animal welfare.

Location Katherine
Region Katherine
t. 08 8973 9771
e. kieren.mccosker@nt.gov.au
View full profile

Jo Miller

Pastoral Extension Officer
Location Katherine
t. (08) 8973 9730
e. joanna.miller@nt.gov.au
View full profile

Tim Schatz

Tim Schatz

Principal Pastoral Production Research Officer
Expertise

Heifer fertility, breeder herd efficiency, animal production systems and animal nutrition.

Location Darwin
Region Northern Territory
t. 08 8999 2332
m. 0429 677 833
e. tim.schatz@nt.gov.au
View full profile

Peter Shotton

Farm Systems Research
Expertise

Pasture establishment, leucaena establishment and management, pasture and soil core sampling and monitoring.

Location Douglas Daly Research Farm
Region Douglas Daly
t. 08 8978 2442
e. peter.shotton@nt.gov.au
View full profile

Dionne Walsh

Dionne Walsh

Rangeland Program Manager
Expertise

Research and extension in sustainable rangeland management: carrying capacity, forage budgeting, grazing systems.

Location Darwin
Region Northern Territory
t. 08 8999 2178
f. 08 8999 2043
e. dionne.walsh@nt.gov.au
View full profile

Queensland

Robert Caird

Robert Caird

Extension Officer (Beef)
Expertise

Beef production systems, economic analysis of beef business performance and cattle nutrition.

Location Mareeba
Region Far North and North West Queensland
t. 07 4048 4880
m. 0459 894 143
e. robert.caird@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Rebecca Gunther

Extension Officer (Beef)
Expertise

Extensive beef production systems; management of native rangelands; cattle nutrition and supplementation including dry and wet season lick rations, molasses mixes and heifer and weaner management; breeder herd management; livestock marketing; property layout and infrastructure planning; and communicating latest information/technology to the beef industry.

Location Cloncurry
Region Northern Gulf, Southern Gulf, Western Burdekin
t. 07 4742 1311
m. 0417 726 703
e. rebecca.gunther@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Joe Rolfe

Principal Extension Officer (Beef)
Expertise

Beef production systems, herd nutrition, meat science, rangeland ecology, native pastures, grazing management systems, soil conservation, rangeland monitoring, property layout and infrastructure, management of fire in the rangelands, succession planning and rural family communication.

Location Mareeba
Region Cape York, Northern Gulf, Upper Herbert, Upper Burdekin and Atherton Tablelands.
t. 07 4048 4882
m. 0427 378 412
e. joe.rolfe@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Bernie English

Senior Extension Officer (Beef)
Expertise

Native, improved and irrigated pasture systems, silage production and tropical pasture seed production, breeder herd management, cattle nutrition and supplementation including feedlot and molasses production feeding, cattle marketing, MSA technology, economic analysis of beef business performance, rangeland monitoring, property planning and use of fire in the rangelands.

Location Mareeba
Region Northern Gulf, Upper Herbert, Upper Burdekin, Atherton Tablelands and Cape York.
t. 07 4017 0700
m. 0427 146 063
e. bernie.english@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Alison Larard

Senior Beef Extension Officer
Expertise

Beef business planning and management incorporating everything from herd productivity to succession planning

Location Mareeba
Region Far North Queensland
t. 07 4017 0794
m. 0467 804 287
e. alison.larard@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Kate Brown

Ag Reef Protection Officer
Expertise

Grazing land management, property mapping and communicating the latest information/technology to the beef industry.

Location Townsville
Region North Queensland
t. 07 3330 4510
m. 0457 520 457
e. kate.brown@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Joanna Gangemi

Extension Officer (Beef) – Grazing BMP
Expertise

Education, facilitation and holistic business management for grazing enterprises.

Location Charters Towers
Region North Queensland
t. 07 4761 5194
m. 0477 345 843
e. joanna.gangemi@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Karl McKellar

Senior Extension Officer (Beef)
Expertise

Assisting beef businesses adopt and integrate new technologies in grazing land management and beef production systems. Assisting North Queensland beef producers integrate the National Livestock Identification System (NLIS) and Meat Standards Australia (MSA).

Location Charters Towers
Region North Queensland
t. 07 4761 5153
m. 0418 189 920
e. karl.mckellar@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Brigid Nelson

Principal Project Officer
Expertise

Beef production systems, grazing land management, extension methodology, monitoring and evaluation, working with groups to implement best practice, rangeland monitoring, reducing sediment from grazing lands, and project management and design.

Location Charters Towers
Region North Queensland
t. 07 4761 5158
m. 0477 316 057
e. brigid.nelson@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Holly Reid

Agricultural Economist
Location Charters Towers
Region North Queensland
t. 07 4761 5156
e. holly.reid@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Bob Shepherd

Principal Extension Officer (Beef)
Expertise

The management of grazing lands using stocking rates, fire, sown pastures and fences/stock waters to improve land condition; woody weed management, reclamation of severely degraded land, preventing and repairing erosion on access tracks and other linear features on grazing properties; working with school students to lift the profile of the northern grazing industry and highlight career opportunities in agriculture; Rangeland Champion with Rangelands Australia (UQ Gatton) and working with industry/agency teams to address industry issues.

Location Charters Towers
Region North Queensland
t. 07 4761 5170
m. 0467 802 430
e. bob.shepherd@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Dave Smith

Senior Extension Officer (Beef)
Expertise

Near infrared reflectance spectroscopy (NIRS) – a management tool for monitoring and managing beef nutrition. National Livestock Identification System (NLIS) – integrating electric identification into business performance monitoring. Pasture/land condition monitoring and its importance to beef businesses. Cattle performance monitoring and its importance to beef businesses. Dung beetles – their distribution management.

Location Charters Towers
Region North Queensland
t. 07 4761 5160
m. 0409 580 357
e. dave.smith@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Megan Willis

Extension Officer (Beef)
Expertise

Grazing land management, land condition assessment, workshop facilitation and property mapping.

Location Charters Towers
Region North Queensland
t. 07 4761 5192
m. 0467 801 777
e. megan.willis@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Emma Black

Extension Officer (Beef)
Expertise

Extensive beef production in north Queensland, cattle nutrition and supplementation, and grazing practices

Location Cloncurry
Region North West Queensland
t. 07 4742 1311
m. 0467 808 340
e. emma.black@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Matt Brown

Matt Brown

Extension Officer (Beef) – Grazing BMP
Expertise

Breeder herd management, grazing land management, property management and facilitation.

Location Rockhampton
Region Central Queensland
t. 07 4843 2611
m. 0428 104 248
e. matt.brown@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Byrony Daniels

Extension Officer (Beef)
Expertise

Business and enterprise analysis, cattle nutrition, breeder management, facilitation, adult learning and grazing management.

Location Emerald
Region Central Queensland
t. 07 4991 0867
m. 0427 746 434
e. byrony.daniels@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Jim Fletcher

Extension Officer (Beef)
Expertise

Grazing land management, nutrition and breeder management.

Location Mackay
Region Mackay, Isaac, Suttor, Bowen, Collinsville and Mt Coolon.
t. 07 4967 0731
m. 0428 960 572
e. jim.fletcher@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Kylie Hopkins

Technical Officer – Grazing BMP | High Output Forages
Location Rockhampton
Region Central Queensland
t. 07 4843 2615
m. 0467 726 349
e. kylie.hopkins@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Photo of Carly Johnstone.

Carly Johnstone

Extension Officer (Beef)
Expertise

Grazing land management, rangeland monitoring and Grazing BMP.

Location Biloela
Region Fitzroy
t. (07) 4808 6887
m. 0467 801 673
e. carly.johnstone@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Eloise Moir

Beef Extension Officer
Location Biloela
Region Central Queensland
t. (07) 4808 6878
m. 0436 666 290
e. eloise.moir@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Ken Murphy

Senior Industry Development Officer and Central Queensland Climate Risk Coordinator
Expertise

Whole property management, animal nutrition and management, pasture management, dry season management including supplementation plans, drought and disaster planning and coordination.

Location Rockhampton
Region Central Queensland
t. 07 4843 2637
m. 0419 658 412
e. ken.murphy@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Mick Sullivan

Principal Extension Officer (Beef)
Expertise

Breeder herd management, cattle nutrition, enterprise analysis and herd modelling, and grazing management.

Location Rockhampton
Region Central Queensland
t. 07 4843 2623
m. 0428 104 374
e. mick.sullivan@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

David Hickey

Senior Industry Development Officer
Expertise

Agribusiness management, whole property management, enterprise analysis, property development and infrastructure, property and herd recording systems. Extension methodology, monitoring and evaluation, group facilitation and adult learning.

Location Roma
Region Southern inland Queensland
t. 07 4622 9919
m. 0427 427 503
e. david.hickey@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Jenny Milson

Scientist
Expertise

Western Queensland plant identification, native pastures and pasture monitoring, grazing management and toxic plants.

Location Longreach
Region Western Queensland
t. 07 4536 8347
m. 0418 125 571
e. jenny.milson@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Jed Sommerfield

Jed Sommerfield

Sheep and Beef Extension Officer
Location Charleville
Region Western Queensland
t. (07) 4530 1256
m. 0459 862 879
e. jed.sommerfield@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Jane Tincknell

Livestock Extension Officer
Location Longreach
Region Western Queensland
m. 0472 877 271
e. jane.tincknell@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Andrea McKenzie

Andrea McKenzie

Extension Officer (Beef & Sheep)
Expertise

Herd management and animal health, disease and nutrition.

Location Charleville
Region South West Queensland
t. 07 4530 1262
m. 0428 109 620
e. andrea.mckenzie@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Megan Gurnett

Extension Officer (Beef)
Expertise

Grazing Best Management Practice in the Burnett Mary and South East Queensland.

Location Toowoomba
Region Southern inland Queensland
t. 07 4529 4221
m. 0475 973 221
e. megan.gurnett@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Head and shoulder photo of Tracy Longhurst, Senior Technical Officer, Department of Agriculture and Fisheries, Toowoomba

Tracy Longhurst

Senior Technical Officer
Expertise

Cattle health, welfare and production, property and herd recording systems, data collection and analysis, whole property management.

Location Toowoomba
Region Southern inland Queensland
t. 07 4688 1518
e. tracy.longhurst@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Roger Sneath

Senior Extension Officer (Beef)
Expertise

Beef production systems, nutrition and economics.

Location Toowoomba
Region Darling Downs
t. 07 4529 4244
e. roger.sneath@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Louise Newman

Pasture Agronomist (Sown Pastures)
Expertise

Feedbase research and development projects across southern and central Queensland and organisation of the Productive and Persistent Legume Pastures workshops.

Location Toowoomba
Region Southern inland Queensland
t. 07 4529 4151
e. Louise.Newman@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Head and shoulder photo of Damien O'Sullivan, Senior Extension Officer, Department of Agriculture and Fisheries, Kingaroy

Damien O’Sullivan

Senior Extension Officer (Beef)
Expertise

Pastures, climate, drought, grazing systems and plant identification.

Location Kingaroy
Region South East Queensland
t. 07 4182 1817
m. 0459 812 261
e. damien.osullivan@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Jo Campbell

Senior Technical Officer
Expertise

I cover a little bit on a broad range of topics. I coordinate all the research trials on site so I guess I have a lot of practical knowledge in;
• breeder management
• herd recording and analysis of performance
• pasture management and forage budgeting
• Grazing BMP compliance and I also provide support to the Grazing BMP extension staff through assisting in workshops. Quite often we are asked to attend to provide advice from a practical perspective as we carry out best management practice recommendations on site here at Brian Pastures.

Location Brian Pastures, Gayndah
Region Burnett/Mary
m. 0459 895 881
e. joanne.campbell@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Greg Bath

Extension Officer (Beef)
Expertise

Intensive beef production in Queensland, in particular: feedlot management, husbandry and markets; whole of business economics and farm integration/planning strategies; integrated lotfed production systems, and; promoting best management practice opportunities. The application, adoption and delivery of eExtension technologies in the intensive beef industry.

Location Brisbane
Region Statewide
t. 07 3708 8466
m. 0418 988 579
e. greg.bath@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Nicole Sallur

Principal Extension Officer
Expertise

Sheep and beef production, extensive grazing management, environmental management systems, extension and evaluation.

Location Charleville
Region Statewide
t. 07 4530 1270
m. 0427 603 241
e. nicole.sallur@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Jodie Ward

Extension Officer
Expertise

Beef production in northern Australia, extensive grazing management, botanal surveys and forage budgeting

Location Brisbane
Region Statewide
t. 07 3708 8535
m. 0427 060 900
e. jodie.ward@daf.qld.gov.au
View full profile

Meat & Livestock Australia


Geoff Niethe

Project Coordinator – Animal production
Expertise

Animal production

Location Brisbane
Region Queensland, Northern Territory and Western Australia (Kimberly/Pilbara)
m. 0428 712 756
e. g.niethe@bigpond.com
View full profile